In the light of personal conversation and email from a team of scientists of Michigan Technological University, USA and initiative of Prof Saket Kushwaha, Hon’ble Vice- Chancellor, LNMU, Darbhanga, Prof Prem Mohan Mishra, Head, Dept of Chemistry, MLSM College, Darbhanga proposed to establish a multidisciplinary research centre and it was christened “ Centre of Advanced Research in Nano Science & Technology”.

Under the chairmanship of Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor, a joint meeting of Heads of all Science departments and deans of all the faculties and some academicians was organised on March 18, 2016 at VCS, LNMU. Prof P M Mishra introduced the subject to the gathering with a brain storming powerpoint presentation highlighting recent trends and future prospects of this subject alongwith justification of need of this centre in this university.

In this meeting it was unanimously decided that LNMU shall establish a Centre of Advanced Research in Nano Science and Technology to harness the benefit of nanotechnology for judicious use of resources, economic growth, health security ,overall development and to develop technologies and products to cater to the regional and national requirements through interdisciplinary education and research.

Pro Vice-Chancellor was authorised to visit the University departments of Physics and Chemistry to identify a venue for this proposed centre. It was also decided to organise seminars, series of lectures and workshops on this emerging topic.

Another meeting of the Heads of Science departments, Dean and other faculties of science and University officials was organised in the chairmanship of Pro Vice Chancellor in his office. After deliberate discussion it was decided to establish the aforementioned centre in the university Department of Chemistry. The members endorsed the decision of previous meeting to organise lecture series of prominent scientists of this field.

To move ahead with the previous decision an interactive meeting with regards to establishment of CARNT was held with Prof. Rajmani Prasad Sinha, Ex-VC, LNMU as key speaker in presence of heads, Dean and other faculties in Pro Vice- Chancellor’s office on March 30, 2016.

It was decided in the meeting to send a team of teachers to different nanotechnology research centres to get hands on experience and more information about tools and techniques in nanotechnology under the leadership of Pro VC. Head, University department of Chemistry and Prof P M Mishra were directed for further actions.

A proposal along with initial budget estimate of Rs 5.18 crore required for the establishment of the centre excluding manpower and power backup was placed in the Syndicate meeting on April 4, 2016.

The august body unanimously approved the proposal of establishment of this centre in university department of chemistry and a seed money of Rs 20 lakh was allowed to start the work. An executive committee was framed for functioning of this centre

1. Prof Ashok Kumar Gupta
HOD, Univ Dept Of Chemistry, LNMU
2. Prof Prem Mohan Mishra
HOD, Chemistry, MLSM College
3. Prof Swatranteshwar Jha
Univ Dept Of Chemistry, LNMU
4. Dr Arun Kumar Singh
Dept of Physics, C M Sc College

Syndicate also approved the proposal to unveil the foundation stone of this CARNT by Sri Nitish Kumar the Hon’ble Chief Minister, Govt of Bihar during his visit to C M College on
May 04, 2016.

Awareness of this proposed centre amongst LNMU colleges can be appreciated from the seminars organised by N J Mahila College Laheriasarai on April 7, 2016 on “Nanoscience in Health.”

A regional seminar on “Nano Materials for Clean and Sustainable Technology” on April 11, 2016 was organised at C M Science College, Darbhanga.

This noble initiative has been widely covered and circulated by media.